Variations and Fugue – Johannes Brahms

The Variations and Fugue on a Theme by Handel was written in 1861 and consists of a set of twenty-five variations and a final fugue. Biographer Jan Swafford describes the Handel Variations as “perhaps the finest set of piano variations since Beethoven.” It is a masterful work that takes the simplicity of the theme taken from Handel’s Harpsichord Suite No. 1 in B-flat major, and transforms it into a work of grand scope incorporating significant variety.

Performed by Daniel Graham
Dedicated to Leon Fleisher in recognition of his 90th birthday.
Produced and Directed by Damion Dormeyer

No Comments Yet.

Leave a comment