Variations and Fugue – Johannes Brahms

The Variations and Fugue on a Theme by Handel was written in 1861 and consists of a set of twenty-five variations and a final fugue. Biographer Jan Swafford describes the Handel Variations as “perhaps the finest set of piano variations since Beethoven.” It is a masterful work that takes the simplicity of the theme taken from Handel’s Harpsichord Suite No. 1 in B-flat major, and transforms it into a work of grand scope incorporating significant variety.

Performed by Daniel Graham
Produced and Directed by Damion Dormeyer

No Comments Yet.

Leave a comment